Main Menus
Login Form
Who's Online
We have 3 guests and 1 member online
Visitor Counter

Today: Oct 24, 2014
Content View Hits : 367892









Pirganj is an Upzila under Rangpur district (also division) with an area of 409.37 square kilometer, which is located at 25°18' to 25°31 N 89°08' to 89°25'E (25°24'55?N 89°19'00?E25.4153, 89.3167) and time zone is BST (UTC+6).Pirganj is bounded by Mithapukur upazila on the north, Palashbari, Ghoraghat and Nawabganj (Dinajpur) upazilas on the south, Sadullapur (Gaibandha) upazila on the east and Mithapukur, Nawabganj (Dinajpur) and Ghoraghat upazilas on the west. Main rivers are Karatoya, Jamuneshwari, Akhira.There is a myth that in ancient period a team of saint was came at Pirganj for Islam missionary. They create there haunt at Pirganj. Very soon a marketplace / ganj was created surrounded this haunt. That ganj / haunt is now known as Pirganj. As of 1991 Pirganj has a population of 303384. Pirganj thana, now an upzila, was established in 1910. The upzila consists of 15 union parishads, 308 mouzas and 331 villages. The unions are 1. Chaitrakol 2. Vendabari 3. Baro Dargah 4. Kumidpur 5. Madonkhali 6. Tukuria 7. Baro Alampur 8. Raipur 9. Pirganj 10. Shanerhut 11. Panchgachi 12. Mithipur 13. Ramnathpur 14. Chatra and 15. Kabilpur

 Saint, captain, muslim missionary and muslim’s religious leader Hazrat Shah Ismail Gazi was live in this area within the period of 1459-1474. His head was buried at bagduar of pirganj and his introstick was buried at Baradargha of Pirganj. There was lots of famous saint in different pace of Pirganj between 15th to 17th Century. Hatibandha, Khalashpir, Bajitpur was famous for Saint (Pir). Madargonj is memorable for saint madar. 

Most talented and pioneer Bengali poet of eighteen century Heyat Mamud was born in the village of Jharbishila under Chitrakol union in Pirganj within the period of 1680-90. He was famous for his work in Islamic Religious Ethics. In some cases Lalon Shah and Rabindranath Tegore was influenced by his thingking and creaation. Janganama (1723), Sarbabhedavani (1732), Hitajnanavani (1753) and Ambiyavani (1758) was his famous creation. This great poet was died at 1760

Within the time period of 19th century here born, Shah Kalim Uddin Ahmed, Taslim Uddin Ahmed, Dost Mohammad, Khandakar Abdul Gani, Shah Abdur Rouf (1889-1970) etc.

In 20th century here born organiser of Anti-British Movement, Tevaga Movement, Language Movement and Liberation War, Monikrishna Sen (1909-1991), Famous Nuclear Scientist and Writer M. A. Wazed Miah (1942-2009), Kazi Abdul Halim (1935-1997), Dr. Mohammad Abdul Jalil Miah, Motiur Rahman, etc.